Wrapper.sgcca() function and some related questions

Hello everyone,

My background is biological, so even after reading some articles and package documentation, some concepts are tough to understand. So I would like to ask some questions that started with the wrapper.sgcca() function but escalated for other doubts (that I think are somehow related):

(i) Regarding the wrapper.sgcca(), if I apply no penalty (no variable selection) and input X with only two blocks, will the function behave as a “regular” CCA (cancor)?

(ii) I read most (or all?) mixOmics algorithms are based on PLS. Then wrapper.sgcca is more similar to CCA (cancor) or PLS (canonical mode)? I mean, is wrapper.sgcca maximizing correlation (CCA) or covariance (PLS)?

(iii) When we use PLS in the canonical mode, is it maximizing correlation instead of covariance?

(iv) Quoting one of your articles: “The values in the similarity matrix can be seen as a robust approximation of the Pearson correlation”. Then, the correlation values that I see after I run the network() function can be interpreted as the R value from Pearson? Can I “R square” then?

I am sorry for this many questions, but I am using mixOmics package in one of my articles and wanna be able to interpret the results properly and minimally explain why I chose a particular algorithm instead of the classical x or y.

Thanks,

• Ana

Hi @annaol,

(i):
No it won’t. The two use different algorithmic implementations with differing parameters

(ii):
The wrapper.sgcca() function uses a modified algorithm of sGCCA from the rGCCA package (a paper can be found here). This ultimately could be thought of a more akin to CCA compared to PLS as it does seek to maximise correlations between pairs of components.

(iii):