What does the node size in the network() output represent?

Dear mixOmics community,

I am new to your package and want to congratulate you on this easily accessible bioinformatical tool box!
I ran an rCCA model (N = 38) using the shrinkage method after NIPALS-imputation on a microbial data set (206 variables) and a sample data set (25 variables) - however, I have two questions that I was not able to answer yet:

1. when running the network() function, the output generates differently sized nodes (annotated as “size” when importing to Cytoscape). What does the node size represent?
  2. I have tested the overall model for signficance by extracting the canonical variates and performaing a spearman calculation via cor.test(), yielding a p-value of < 2.2e-16. Is there a method for testing each canonical correlation for significance? I have tried using the p.asym() function of the CCP package, but this only returns NaNs as p-values.

Thanks a lot for your help in advance!

Best,
Luise

hi @l.bel,

1. when running the network() function, the output generates differently sized nodes (annotated as “size” when importing to Cytoscape). What does the node size represent?

Nothing :slight_smile: it is coming from the iGraph package and the size of the node depends on the length of the variable name.

1. I have tested the overall model for signficance by extracting the canonical variates and performaing a spearman calculation via cor.test(), yielding a p-value of < 2.2e-16. Is there a method for testing each canonical correlation for significance? I have tried using the p.asym()function of the CCP package, but this only returns NaNs as p-values.