How to account for group membership in sPLS?

Hi mixOmics team,

Thank you so much for creating such a fantastic package! I am quite new to microbiome analysis so I apologise if the following questions are very straightforward:

I am interested in using sPLS (canonical mode) to find associations between various dietary factors with microbiome abundance data. I was wondering if you could suggest what to do to account for group membership as I have 4 different participant groups (controls, IBS, anxiety/depression, comorbid IBS and anxiety/depression) and I’d be very interested to see if diet-microbiota associations differ in these various groups. While I know you can colour by groups in some of the plot options, I’m not sure if it is possible to somehow account for group membership in the analysis itself. Any advice would be really appreciated!

In relation to using the canonical mode, I saw that tuning is not possible - could you suggest a way to select the optimal number of components in this case?

Another question I had is how one would decide how to set the range of test values for the no. of variables to use from each data set. Is this quite an arbitrary decision or should that be based on how many variables are in each data set? If I have 1000 ASVs and 65 dietary variables, how would I best go about setting this range for both sets of data?

Thank you in advance (and apologies if these questions have been asked before)!

1 Like

Morning @DjamilaE,

No apologies required!

While I know you can colour by groups in some of the plot options, I’m not sure if it is possible to somehow account for group membership in the analysis itself

Unfortunately, there isn’t a way to do this directly within the spls() function. However, we can explore data in certain ways to achieve something similar. I’ll start by just setting up the data and such:

library(mixOmics)

data("liver.toxicity")

X <- liver.toxicity$gene
Y <- liver.toxicity$clinic