Help with DIABLO heatmap

Hello,

Sorry if this is a silly question, but I’m new to DIABLO and just looking for a little help and reassurance I’m on the right track with my analysis :slight_smile:

I have shotgun metagenomic data which I was looking to link the taxonomic and functional data to look for associations between the to for my disease diagnosis group.

So far I have

sgccda.res = block.splsda(X = data, Y = Y, ncomp = 5,
design = design)

Where Y= my disease/health metadata value
X= taxa and functional data

I successfully built the spiderweb of associations but found it a bit hard to read because it listed so many taxa + pathways

circosPlot(sgccda.res, cutoff = 0.7)

So I thought I would instead draw a heatmap to make it easier to read.

#from the tutorials this doesn’t work for me because of the margins I think
cimDiablo(sgccda.res, margin=c(8,20), legend.position = “right”, trim = “FALSE”)

#I found this in another topic and manged to generate the heatmap but again i think it has listed every taxa and pathway so it’s difficult to read

get univariate correlations for pairwise blocks

X.merge ← Reduce(cbind, sgccda.res$X)
univariate.cors ← cor(X.merge, use = ‘pairwise.complete.obs’)

order features based on corMat

univariate.cors ← univariate.cors[rownames(corMat), colnames(corMat)]

heatmaps generally agree but there are exceptions especially for low correlations

pheatmap::pheatmap(univariate.cors, cluster_rows = FALSE, cluster_cols = FALSE, show_rownames = FALSE, show_colnames = FALSE)

pheatmap::pheatmap(corMat, cluster_rows = FALSE, cluster_cols = FALSE, show_rownames = FALSE, show_colnames = FALSE)

Any help would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

I’m a bit confused as to what you’re actually asking sorry.

Are you just wanting to reduce the number of features shown in a heatmap? Have you applied any feature selection methods?

Sorry for that, yes I’d like to limit the number of features in the heatmap and I’m not quite sure how to do this.