DIABLO - Questions about TCGA case study

Hi there!

I’m a Bioinformatics MSc student and I’m looking to use DIABLO in my dissertation.

I’m just attempting the case study on the main website to try and learn more, yet when I reached the step where you can manually input parameters of the data, as in;

“list.keepX = list(mRNA = c(6,14), miRNA = c(5,18), proteomics = c(6,7)) # from tuning step”

I note than I end up with less selected variables than if I ran tune.block.splsda using the script, and the resulting plots are significantly different from those resulting after manually inputting the parameters. I was wondering why these specific parameters were chosen, if the tune.block.splsda returns more.

Apologies if this is a easy question, I’m still getting to grips with the tools and background knowledge!

Thank you in advance.

Hi @studentScot,

The reason why you retain more variables when using list.keepX = tune.TCGA$choice.keepX rather than entering them manually (list.keepX = list(mRNA = c(6,14), miRNA = c(5,18), proteomics = c(6,7))), is probably a matter of reproducability. Or maybe the manually entered values in the vignette were set randomly, just to demonstrate it can be done manually too. The downloadable R-script comes with an RData object, and herein the tuning output looks like this:

list.keepX
$mRNA
[1] 30 16
$miRNA
[1]  5 18
$proteomics
[1] 30  5

If your results are close to this, then you are doing it correctly (given that you copy-pasted the entire script).

• Christopher
1 Like

Hi Christopher,

Thanks for the reply! It makes sense to me, though I’ve noticed my results are a little different from yours (mostly just for proteomics data though):

$mRNA
[1] 30  7

$miRNA
[1]  9 16

$proteomics
[1] 7 5

Does this seem acceptable?

Could the issue be with the cpus? I noted that it was replaced with BPPARAM at some point, so I removed the cpus arguement.

And, apologies, one last question; I noted the values for:

perf.diablo$choice.ncomp$WeightedVote