Tune.block.splsda() error

Hi,

I am analyzing three datasets together and I would like to tune the number of variables I need to include in the block splsda model. However, when I try to tune with tune.block.splsda() I get this error:

Error in (function (classes, fdef, mtable)  : 
  unable to find an inherited method for function ‘bplapply’ for signature ‘"integer", "numeric"’

This is what I am trying to run:

test.keepX <- list(
  cbc = seq(5, 13, 1),
  luminex = seq(5, 13, 1),
  mlpa = seq(5, 13, 1)
) # e.g. the min dim of Y

tune.nfeatures <- tune.block.splsda(X, Y, ncomp = ncomp,
                              test.keepX = test.keepX, design = design,
                              validation = 'Mfold', folds = 10, nrepeat = 1,
                              BPPARAM = 4, dist = "centroids.dist")

I am just learning how to use DIablo and I have no idea what the problem can be.
If you need more information, please let me know.
Any thoughts?

Thank you in advance!!!
Ana

Morning @annaol,

The problem here is BPPARAM = 4. I’d suggest reading up a bit on BiocParallel.

The BPPARAM parameter is not equivalent to the depreciated cpus parameter. It needs to be passed a BiocParallel object and not an integer. Hence, what you’ll need is BPPARAM = MulticoreParam(workers = 4) (if you’re on Unix/Mac) or BPPARAM = SnowParam(workers = 4) (if on Windows). Ensure that you load the package first via library(BiocParallel).

This should resolve your issue. All the best

Cheers,
Max.

You are absolutely right! Thank you very much.

I started using the cpus parameter before (I am following the Case Study of DIABLO with Breast TCGA) and I received a warning (or error, do not remember now) to replace it with BPPARAM. I thought it was a simple replacement case. Once I applied your solution, it worked!

One more thing, in the first successful execution I got a message:

Warning message:
The SGCCA algorithm did not converge