ROC analysis on a PLS-DA model built on only training data

Hi everyone!

I’m new to PLS-DA analysis so I have some questions about it and I hope somebody can help me.

I’ve used the package to analyse a dataset using PLS-DA. After plotting the plot it appears that there is clear discrimination between my samples.

Now I want to further analyse how good this discriminative power is using ROC-analysis and calculating the AUC. There’s only one problem and that is that I haven’t split the data into a trainingset and validation/test set because I don’t have enough samples to do so. Is calculating the AUC on my PLS-DA model using only trainingdata/trainingset of any added value? And if I calculate the AUC using only the training set and get an AUC of let’s say 0.9, does this mean that my PLS-DA model has a discriminative accuracy of 90%? I’m assuming this is not correct because you would need a validation and test set in order to be able to evaluate the dicriminative power of the model right?

Best regards,

Gabby

Hello @Gabby,

There are a few points that I think I should clarify about the usage of the AUROC curve:

Is calculating the AUC on my PLS-DA model using only trainingdata/trainingset of any added value?

The short answer is no. A model is going to be extremely good at classifying samples it was taught on as those samples drove the way the model was formed. While “training accuracy” is a metric that is assessed, it is almost always done in conjunction with “testing accuracy” (sometimes referred to as “validation accuracy”). This is because it allows comparison between the two. Having a high training accuracy but a low testing accuracy is an easy-to-identify indicator of overfitting. Hence, if you only have the training accuracy, any report on the model’s performance will be extremely over-optimistic. At the end of the day, model building is all about generalisability, something which training accuracy does not measure at all.