Model validation / analysis

Hello everyone!

I want to study the interaction between the host (transcriptomics data) and the bacteria (microbiome data), so I have found this amazing package with a lot of documentation to perform the analysis (thank you again!). But I have several doubts after a month of “playing” with mixOmics, because I think I’m obtaining bad model metrics and I don’t know if is the data or the analysis.

Once I studied most of the documentation, I realize that what I want to do was an N-integration with the DIABLO framework. I followed the steps described here: 6 N-Integration | mixOmics vignette

########### Here are the steps I followed and below the questions I have:

1. Clean my data (23 A samples vs 33 B samples, 60 OTU and 123 genes).

2. Define X (microbiome + transcriptome) and Y (outcomes labels, A and B).

3. Define design matrix. In my case, I’m still testing which is the best design for my analysis, trying to perform the same models with 0, 0.5 and 1 (I don’t know how related are my datasets).

####### For example, design = 0.5
design_all ← matrix(0.5, ncol = length(X_all), nrow = length(X_all), dimnames = list(names(X_all), names(X_all)))

4. Calculate the number of components in all the distances and select the overall.BER to have the best ncomp. I’m still testing also which is the best distance for my analysis (max.dist, centroids.dist or mahalanobis.dist).

diablo.all ← block.plsda(X_all, Y_all, ncomp = 10, design = design_all)
perf.diablo.all = perf(diablo.all, dist = “all”, validation = ‘Mfold’, folds = 6, nrepeat = 5)
plot(perf.diablo.all)

perf.diablo.all$choice.ncomp$WeightedVote
####### I tried with max.dist in this example
ncomp ← perf.diablo.all$choice.ncomp$WeightedVote[“Overall.BER”, “max.dist”]
ncomp

5. Calculate which is the best number of variables to select with tune.block.splsda:

set.seed(123)
####### microbiome data: 60 OTUs, transcriptome data: 123 genes.